Help

Welcome to ViewRanger's community site. We hope that you don't experience any issues but just in case we've written this help page which focuses on the registration/login process and what to do first once you're registered.

If you have any questions, why not check our Top Questions page to find answers....

If you are still having problems please don't hesitate to contact our customer services via support@viewranger.com and we'll get back to you as soon as we can.



We're constantly adding information to this but if there's any info you're missing, then please drop us an email via info@viewranger.com.

1. Registration and log in

  • You'll need to register on this site in order to get access, even if you've already registered a ViewRanger account via the app on your phone. Registration is free.
  • If you have registered with ViewRanger via the app on your phone, simply register with these details on MyViewRanger so you can log in using them. If you can't remember your username, please check the account settings on your ViewRanger mobile app. If you can't remember your password you can reset it using your phone. If you still continue to have issues, just give us a call and we'll help you sort it out.
  • If you don't have an account on your phone, simply register as a new user with your name, email address and password or using Facebook or Google.
  • If you experience any issues or have questions regarding this process please contact support@viewranger.com


2. When you're logged in

Before you start creating content and searching for routes, spend a few minutes setting up your account.....

We'd advise the following steps

STEP 1: Add the phones and devices that you have (this will ensure that any of your previous credit and content is linked to your MyViewRanger account)

STEP 2: Set up your profile & add a profile image, select your interests, etc.

STEP 3:  If you have more than ViewRanger account, please add this in via the 'Log in details' page in the My ViewRanger section (this will ensure that content in that account will be linked to this account)


3. Managing your account


4. The route editor

This site allows you to:

  • Create routes and view them on your phones/devices
  • Share your routes with the community.

All the detailed information about this tool is included on the editor page, accessed via the ? button on the tool bar.

Finding your created routes on your phone/devices

If you've saved a route, either published or private, just search for it by text or location to find it on your handset. 

5. Share your routes

You can share your routes via Facebook, Twitter and email.  You can also share them via our widgets but this is a little more technical. Routes must be published before they can be shared. (You can also share your published tracks.)

First publish the route via the route edit button. Then set the sharing status field to Published using the route information button in the toolbar. The sharing actions icons will then appear on the left of the route map screen.


6. Tips


What is a short code stem?

A short code stem is unique to each route publisher. It allows a publisher to create a "shortcode" that can be used to help people to find a specific route within My.ViewRanger or through the ViewRanger app.  Eg. TRL is the short code stem used by Trail Magazine, so that TRL0007 can be used as a short-hand way of finding the Trail route "Swaledale, Yorkshire Dales"


The site tells me that my Walkingworld subscription has expired

When you save your Profile, we check with Walkingworld that your Walkingworld subscription details are valid and that we can therefore deliver Walkingworld routes to you for free. If you are told your subscription has expired, please login at walkingworld.com, and check the second paragraph to see your account status on the Walkingworld site.  Walkingworld let you log in to the website when your subscription has expired.


Using routes on your phone / tablet

To use your routes on your phone or tablet, run ViewRanger on the device. Tap on the three dots at the top right of your screen, then 'Synchronise Content'. Your new and changed routes will be downloaded to the device, and your tracks will be uploaded back to My.ViewRanger.